1992 Remembered - 2022-12-28 09:34:00

The Sunday before Christmas thirty years ago was a frosty day with fields everywhere covered in a heavy white covering - certainly not conducive to hurling!  That Sunday before Christmas three decades ago, Sunday December 20th was a Red Letter day for Bride Rovers. Today as we congratulate Ballygiblin Premier Junior Hurlers on reaching their second All Irelan Final in a row we recall travelling to their Club pitch for a County Final which started a truly Golden Era for our Club in 1992.   That Sunday morning the possibility of the game going ahead looked slim but in fairness to the Minor Board and the Ballygiblin Club we got the 'green light' for the game. It was County Minor B Hurling League Final and Killavullen were our opponents.  The County Minor Board under the late, great Con Murphy had decided to have the League Winners from Each Division take part in a County-wide knock-out Competition -a bit like a mini Championship. In the East Cork Championship we had been beaten by  Watergrasshill by 2 7 to 0 7. In the East Cork M League we ended up in a play-off with the Hill. We won this game by 1 11 to 1 6 and then, on Nov 7th, we beat Castlelyons in the East Cork League Final by 2 8 to 0 6. In the County League we met the Championship winners Ballinora. In a mighty game at Carrignavar we won by 1 9 t o 0 10, the goal came in the 8th minute when a shot from James Murphy was saved but finished to the net  by Terry Broderick. We had an easy win over Shamrocks by  6 11 to 0 3.  On the frosty day in Ballygiblin thirty years ago we beat Killavullen by 2 14 to 1 3 for a first County title in any grade since 1932.  It was a great boost for the Club as our Junior B hurlers had lost out in the Championship to Fr O Neills 'second string'. We won the JB grade double in 1993 and five years later the East Cork and County Junior A Hurling Titles and we haven't looked back since!
Team v Killavullen E Hoskins, E Murphy, L Barry, A Broderick, D Barry M Walsh B Murphy P Walsh J O Callaghan, K Fitzgerald, T Broderick, n. Hegarty, J Murphy, P Cotter, P Barry Subs D Ryan, B McHugh.


Club Shop